Skip to main content

Who We Are

The Lake Country Museum and Archives is operated by the Lake Country Cultural and Heritage Society, a group of community volunteers who have nurtured the Museum since its inception in 1985. The Founding Members persuaded School District 23 to donate the Okanagan Centre School for community purposes.

A committed Board of Directors and an active group of volunteers work diligently to maintain museum displays and archives, offer school programs, present lectures and exhibitions and maintain the building and grounds. Financial support comes from the District of Lake Country and from individual donations and bequests.

The Founding Members had the vision of a community museum: Helen Gatzke (Founding President), Flora Snowdon, David Lodge, George Kozub, Jack McCarthy, Yvonne Saunders, Win Sutton, Jane Arnold, James Baker, Penny Baughen, Rosemary Carter and Ron Carter.

Persons who have been especially active in supporting the Lake Country Museum have been recognized as Life Members: Anne Land, Peter Short, David Lodge, Ross McDonagh, Ruth Whitson, James Taylor, James Baker, Andrew Miller and Carol Thomson.

The backbone of our organization is the dedicated group of Volunteers who give their time so freely to the preservation and presentation of Lake Country history. These volunteers are many including Sonja MacCrimmon, more recently Harvey Leamont is our Volunteer of the Year. 

For many years Harvey has worked in almost every area of the Lake Country Museum and Archives, providing assistance wherever and whenever necessary. The number of hours that Harvey has volunteered is legion, and his friendly demeanor is appreciated by all.

Volunteer of the Year
Harvey Leamont 2018 Volunteer of the Year

This is WHO WE ARE —

we are the community of Lake Country.

The Lake Country Heritage and Cultural Society recognizes the generous support provided by the following funders and sponsors, both individual and corporate.

  • Arts Council of the Central Okanagan
  • The Calendar
  • Canadian Heritage Information Network (CHIN)
  • Central Okanagan Foundation
  • Cooper Computer Consulting
  • District of Lake Country
  • Gatzke’s Farm Market
  • Gilbert and Jane Arnold and family
  • Gray Monk Estate Winery
  • Great Little Box Company
  • Hamber Foundation
  • Hamilton, Nancy & Terry
  • Holiday Park Resort
  • Holmes Electric
  • HRSDC Service Canada
  • Leon & Thea Koerner Foundation
  • Mellum, Yvonne
  • Okanagan College
  • Private donors
  • Thomson, Carol & Duane
  • UBC — Irving K. Barber
  • UBC Okanagan
  • UBR Printing Services
  • The View
  • Virtual Museum of Canada